PunTheHun
Topic Author

Item prices?

Sat 07 Jan 2023, 10:26

I am new to the game and a bit baffled about the lack of a price list for items and services. While I guess that a lot of trading will go by bartering, in game terms that would cost a lot of time (so money would be a convenient shortcut to get on with the story). Also, some services will almost always be paid in money, like inns etc., because it is inconvenient to carry goods for bartering on a journey (and not everyone has the Marquis de Carabas' talent to barter for information …).
How do you handle this? Has anyone come up with a rough list? From the material provided I have only 3 cornerstones: 0.5 SP is enough to pay for a long and good evening at the Prancing Pony; a common pony will cost about 4 SP; 30 SP is considered "a lot of money" in Bree (this last one may have come from a session, not from the canon, but seems to make sense).

Glad for any help you can give. I searched the forum but did not get any helpful hits (though a lot of interesting thoughts about councils :) ).
--
Lutz

Tolwen

Re: Item prices?

Sat 07 Jan 2023, 15:07

I am new to the game and a bit baffled about the lack of a price list for items and services.
This lack of classic RPG cost and purchase lists is part of the game design. Already in the First Edition, your Standard of Living determined what you could afford and as long as you stayed in that associated range, there were no individual purchases of items or services necessary. It is assumed that your Standard of Living allows you to cover all associated costs (i.e. like with a modern bank account from which all your everyday transactions are deducted). Wealth is (or was in 1st ed. - I'm not familiar with the 2nd ed. details) expressed through "Treasure Points" - a very rough estimate and that can be used to judge how many days/weeks/months/years of a given Standard of Living are included in a certain amount of "Treasure Points".