I am working my way through the 4e rule set, and I had a few questions regarding the push damage mechanic. As stated in the Player's Handbook:
Question 1 : When do you ever have more than 1 point of damage? If you have two 1's rolled in the original base dice, then you wouldn't be able to push. Further, if you push one or two dice, and subsequently roll one or two 1's, would you take damage on any push 1's?There is also a risk – each time you push a roll, you immediately
suffer 1 point of damage (if you rolled for STR
or AGL) or 1 point of stress (if you rolled for INT or EMP)
for each 1 you rolled on your base dice.
Example: I shoot my pistol, rolling a 4 and a 1. I immediately take 1 point of damage on the 1. Then I choose to push the 4. In that push roll, I roll a 1. Do I take an additional point of damage?
Example 2: I shoot my pistol. I roll a 1 and a 1. I cannot push. Please confirm.
Question 2 : Narratively speaking, how do you handle the damage suffered as a result of a ranged attack push? It makes sense for almost any other skill check (i.e. close combat you almost break your hand, throwing a grenade you wrench your shoulder, etc.) but with a ranged attack? I can see once you might catch a brass in the eye, but how many times can you reuse that before it becomes a joke?
Thanks so much everyone! Having fun reading through the 4e after 30+ years since playing v1.