ArkoblaConn
Topic Author

New Loremaster questions (yes, open to everyone)

Fri 19 Jan 2024, 17:15

Hi all - I just ran my first session of the One Ring last night and we had fun. I also just discovered this forum, so forgive me if I ask questions already answered elsewhere, I've got a lot of catching up to do.

I was going to run the Troll adventure from the newest book (In English) and when I did a test combat with them, I realized they would demolish the players. How long will it take to get players to a level where they can do that adventure? (Yes, I know that initially they are trying to capture....Sill...)

On the Journey phase, the fate die on the travel roll by the guide determines the number of hexes moved? Is there a maximum or can they really travel 10 hexes? (on failure its 1 or 2 hexes depending on season). That doesn't seem right.

[On my players first Journey roll, they failed. Do I use the fate die OF THAT ROLL to determine the result, or do I roll it again? I used that roll, but in retrospect, they would never have gotten a gandalf rune, as that would mean they had succeeded in the travel roll...correct?. As it happens, that roll was a sauron eye, and indicated a wound.]

I searched for healing and couldn't find it in the moment, but what did the healing roll, which was successful, with a 6 rolled, mean? I had previously said the lookout had stepped in a gopher hole and might have broken his leg...but a successful healing roll determined it was only twisted. IS this right? Should I have taken the wound away? Should I rolled on the severity chart??

1 day out of Bree this happened, my group almost decided to walk back to bree and rest up before starting fresh... this is kinda why I adjudicated the heal labove as I did....