A roll of 1 is normally an automatic miss regardless of modifiers. A roll of 20 is a critical hit.
Do Lore dice affect this?
I'm tempted to rule that they do, because the right knowledge could effect these outcomes in some cases.
In that case you might use the Lore die to augment your roll of 1, in which case your other modifiers might allow you to hit.
How about criticals, can you use a lore dice to boost your roll to 20?
In addition, my interpretation is that since the lore die is added to the roll, it is not a modifier but instead it creates a bigger die roll.