I thought I understood how magical success worked but I read the rules again now that my players are starting to acquire items with a blessing and I realized I'm confused.
As I understand it, a marvelous item allows a player to "choose" to achieve a magical success on a skill affected by an item so that they count as having rolled a 20 and the action automatically succeeds. A 4th level character can do that once for each long rest.
So if a player chooses to automatically succeed, why do they need to worry about using the blessing die?
What if the DC of the action is greater than 20, do they still succeed, or do they need their skill bonus and the blessing die to try to achieve the needed number?
Is the blessing die always usable or are uses limited to half their proficiency rounded down?
Edit - I think I get it. You can always use the blessing die on the appropriate skill, and you can choose a magical success a limited number of times. Is that right?