Hortum
Topic Author

In regards to the OGL

Thu 05 Jan 2023, 21:37

I know it's a bit early to make judgments, but in the last couple of days a lot of speculation has been going around about WoTC intending to terminate the OGL 1.0(a). As a potential content creator that wishes to use the Year Zero Engine, if that were to be the case, would Free League release the SRD under a new license, for example creative commons or something akin to MÖRK BORG/Cy_Borg.

Sorry, I know this is sudden a based on unofficial rumors :)

perakob

Re: In regards to the OGL

Thu 05 Jan 2023, 23:17

Seconding this!
As someone planning to release a Year Zero game under the OGL license, I think this is a good time for FL to reconsider using another framework for licensing the core rules (for instance Creative Commons).

AdamG

Fri 06 Jan 2023, 06:27

I've been developing a game using YZE for the past two years. I'm concerned about this as well.

Snorri Gygax

Fri 06 Jan 2023, 11:20

Same here. Maybe it's a little too soon until WotC makes firmer moves, but Free League should make a statement, as soon as possible, regarding this matter of the utmost importance.

Gathgar

Sat 07 Jan 2023, 19:01

Tbh, since the YZE is an entirely different system from the d20 it shouldn't be complex to unhook from the OGL 1.0 and use something else. I believe that someone mentioned Creative Commons. But lets wait for the WOTCers make their move first.

"Those who fail to learn from history are condemned to repeat it."

Cuffer

Tue 10 Jan 2023, 10:34

Personally I would love to see Free League take the opportunity to create their own ogl in the same way the cypher system has, regardless of what wotc decide to do. At least then they would be untouchable in regards to wotc decisions now or in the future.

Ps the system is fantastic and has a great community - would hate to see anything happen to it. I’m sure it’s in safe hands though.

inexperienceddm

Fri 13 Jan 2023, 01:17