Players can always use a torch in combat as per the rulebook, but if you draw the improvised version of the torch, then they can use that torch that has an improved effect compared to normal torch attacks. Improvised weapons are one use only.
Hi. There is something I'd rather to understand better. As exposed in this thread, there is a difference between a torch bought from a shop and a torch found in a dungeon: while the first one should be compared to a "Wooden Club, Small", the second one follows the rules written on its (Improvised Weapon) card. What I don't understand is the following part: while on page 55 I can read "Once used, an improvised weapon is consumed and the card is removed.", on the card I can read "You may then keep the torch.". So, combining these two points, my conclusion is: a "Torch - Improvised Weapon" is not consumed after being used and a player can continue to use it as an improvised weapon and GM has to check if it is still lit, due to the fact regular rules are circumvented by the ones on the cards. Do I have this right? Thank you.
Burn the book.