So, yesterday my players ran into a roadblock. Both sides failed their recon roll, so they were both surprised and it became a meeting engagement, with the players vehicle still moving down the road when I rolled initiative.
Now, my players were in an M151 Jeep without a roof (or doors, for that matter).
Two players in the front seats, both sitting down (driver, navigator), one player standing up in the back (on guard) and one sitting down in the back.
The Marauders at the roadblock open fire on the players vehicle (one of the marauders got the best initiative roll) and miss, but get hits on the ammo dice, thus it should cause supression.
However, the RAW states that "a target fully inside a vehicle cannot be suppressed, but they can be forced to bail out".
Now, my players argued that even though they were in a vehicle without roof or doors, they were still "fully inside", even the person standing up in the back.
I would argue that they're not, they have to be covered by doors/roof to count as fully inside.
Given that I didn't want to disrupt the flow, I said that I'd allow it this one time, but I'd make an official ruling at the start of the next session.
So, how would you rule in this situation?
Technically, the three people sitting down in the car were "fully inside" from the view of the enemy firing. So I could give them a *tiny* bit of leeway. But the person standing up was clearly not "fully inside" the vehicle and should have been effected by the suppression.