LillianNest1
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue 23 Feb 2021, 10:19

Do transponders affect Target Lock??

Tue 23 Feb 2021, 10:20

I'm reading the rules on ship combat, and I can't tell how transponders are meant to affect the Target Lock action. The Detection box on page 190 could be read to mean that if a ship's transponder is on, the opponent can establish a target lock without having to make a COMTECH roll. If that's the case, the example combat on page 202 has it backwards in the 4th paragraph--the players' ship in the example would have to make a COMTECH roll, but the smugglers wouldn't.essay writer
Is there another interpretation I'm not seeing?
Last edited by LillianNest1 on Sun 28 Feb 2021, 13:24, edited 1 time in total.
 
Lord Drah'Kan
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon 23 Nov 2020, 18:31

Re: Do transponders affect Target Lock??

Tue 23 Feb 2021, 13:41

I think you are correct. A transponder signal gives you an automatic target lock on the ship. If the transponder is switched off, you need to make a comtech roll to lock on. In the example given, the players should have rolled comtech to get a lock on the smugglers.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests