Jonbertsch
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue 18 Jun 2019, 03:34

Close combat and blocking

Mon 23 Sep 2019, 13:40

What is the sequence of events for blocking during close combat? Let's say we have two opponents both armed with blunt instruments(wrench, pipe, etc) the attacker declares the attack and the defender declares they will attempt to block. The attacker gets three success and the defender rolls and gets two successes. The rules for blocking say that for each success you may: remove a success to lower the damage, counterattack, or disarm the opponent. Blocking rule reads "For each (success) you roll, choose an effect below:" which to me says if you roll multiple success you can do some of all of the effects(if you have enough success), if that is the case when are those resolved? Let's say the defender wants to use one of their success to reduce damage by one and also disarm? What if the attacker decides to use the extra success to disarm and the defender chooses to counterattack, would they be counter attacking unarmed? There seems to be a lot going on and I cannot see the best way to resolve all possible outcomes without some clarification on who gets to do what and in what order. Sorry if I missed something obvious in the rules, I do that sometimes. 
 
User avatar
Fenhorn
Moderator
Posts: 1552
Joined: Thu 24 Apr 2014, 15:03
Location: The Pearl of Lake Vänern.

Re: Close combat and blocking

Mon 23 Sep 2019, 14:16

The attacker rolls first (and push if he wants to) and then the defender rolls (and push if he wants to). The defender then removes any of the attackers 6s that he can or wants to. The attacker then chooses his stunts and then the defender chooses his. This happens at the same time so even though the attacker or the defender disarms the other, the attacks will do damage before it is dropped or if the defender counterattacks and the attacker try to grapple, he will get damage.

I don't know if this is the right way or not but this is how we have done it (in MYZ btw, but that is a fairly similar system).
“I’d say thistles, but nobody listens to me, anyway.” - Eeyore
 
Jonbertsch
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue 18 Jun 2019, 03:34

Re: Close combat and blocking

Mon 23 Sep 2019, 16:37

So before the attacker uses any of the 6s rolled the defender can remove them before anything actually happens? That doesn't feel right to me. I'm totally over thinking this for sure, but that's part of the fun right? To me it would be better to have blocking only do one thing, reduce damage. If the attacker is going to do X amount of damage and I block, based on the number of 6s I roll will reduce the damage by that much. Maybe if the defender rolls MORE than the attackers damage could the defender do something else like disarm or counter attack. 

I guess what's tripping me up the the bit that goes: "For each (success) you roll, choose an effect below:" Choose only one? Or if you have multiple 6s can you pick more than one effect? That same line is used for close combat as well,  "For every extra (success) you roll, choose one of these stunts:" Multiple 6s gets you multiple stunts? 
 
User avatar
Tomas
Site Admin
Posts: 4482
Joined: Fri 08 Apr 2011, 11:31

Re: Close combat and blocking

Mon 23 Sep 2019, 17:02

Hi!

This is the intended sequence:
1. The attacker declares the attack.
2. The defender declares whether to block or not.
3. The attacker rolls (and pushes if they want to), then chooses a stunt if they rolled several successes.
4. If the defender declared a block, they now roll dice and choose an effect. If the defender chose the "decrease damage" effect, the attacker loses successes and can thus lose their chosen stunt.
5. The results of the attack and the block are implemented simultaneously. If the defender chose to counterattack, the two attacks occur at the same time. If the defender chose to disarm the attacker, the attack hits normally, but counts as an unarmed attack.
Fria Ligan
 
User avatar
Fenhorn
Moderator
Posts: 1552
Joined: Thu 24 Apr 2014, 15:03
Location: The Pearl of Lake Vänern.

Re: Close combat and blocking

Mon 23 Sep 2019, 17:07

Hi!

This is the intended sequence:
1. The attacker declares the attack.
2. The defender declares whether to block or not.
3. The attacker rolls (and pushes if they want to), then chooses a stunt if they rolled several successes.
4. If the defender declared a block, they now roll dice and choose an effect. If the defender chose the "decrease damage" effect, the attacker loses successes and can thus lose their chosen stunt.
5. The results of the attack and the block are implemented simultaneously. If the defender chose to counterattack, the two attacks occur at the same time. If the defender chose to disarm the attacker, the attack hits normally, but counts as an unarmed attack.
I almost got it. I have played Forbidden Lands for a very long time so I have forgotten about close combat and stunts. I must say that I am a little bit surprised with that if the defender disarms, the attack will count as unarmed. I don't think we have ever done that, but it does make disarm more useful and close combat even more tactical. Thanks Tomas for clearing this up.
“I’d say thistles, but nobody listens to me, anyway.” - Eeyore
 
Jonbertsch
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue 18 Jun 2019, 03:34

Re: Close combat and blocking

Mon 23 Sep 2019, 17:23

Thanks! I asked for a sequence of events and you did not disappoint. 

I agree with Fenhorn about the disarm though, if one were able to disarm their attacker outright wouldn't that just cancel the attack? I see how that wouldn't work with balancing the game. I guess once the attacker is disarmed they still can  get in a quick punch...   :twisted:
 
rybotron
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed 09 Oct 2019, 09:33

Re: Close combat and blocking

Wed 09 Oct 2019, 09:36

Just wanted to clarify if a Xenomorph can earn and perform combat stunts for extra success rolls.
Can they allocate the dice for extra damage or push the defender back etc?
Cheers.
GZIP: Off