Ignoring the Cold-Blooded Talent typo for the moment, I noticed the COUP DE GRÂCE rules only applies to human being enemies: "If it’s a human being and you want to kill your target outright..."
While it makes sense to roll against Empathy before killing your own kind, I was disheartened that COUP DE GRÂCE does not apply to Synthetics or Xenomorphs, which include Neomorphs and Abominations (you know, the likely antagonists for this setting).
For comparison, the COUP DE GRACE rule in Forbidden Lands specifies "If it’s an intelligent being (with Wits) and you want to give him a COUP DE GRACE and kill him outright..." Using that those rules, Xenomorphs cannot be COUP DE GRÂCE as "Xenomorphs don’t have attributes like humans" (page 150), but Synthetics are free game. Then again, I think I would feel more Empathy for a Stage I: Infected former crew member than a Synthetic.
Questions for clarification:
1. Is a Stage I: Infected considered to be a Xenomorph or Human Being?
2. Should "it’s a human being and" limitation be removed/edited from the COUP DE GRÂCE statement? Perhaps going back to the Forbidden Lands, "If it’s an intelligent being (with Wits)..."