CaLLeCuLa
Topic Author
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu 01 Sep 2016, 19:36

Bind magic

Sat 30 May 2020, 12:41

When binding, with the errata in mind, does it mean that when binding a spell you dont choose its effect during the binding but when the holder of the item casts it?

And if that is the case, does it mean that the one using the item also roles for magic misshap?
 
User avatar
Fenhorn
Moderator
Posts: 2032
Joined: Thu 24 Apr 2014, 15:03
Location: Mariestad

Re: Bind magic

Sat 30 May 2020, 13:04

All the misfire/overcharge rolls are made when you create the item. For the highest level of magic items, the cost of Power Level to activate the item is only to activate it, the misfire/overcharge roll has already been done. All the choices are made when you create the item because the user of the item may not have any knowledge how magic works and a trap (if creating a trap) certainly doesn't.
“Thanks for noticin' me.” - Eeyore
 
CaLLeCuLa
Topic Author
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu 01 Sep 2016, 19:36

Re: Bind magic

Sat 30 May 2020, 13:15

Ah yes I didnt consider the trap part. Thank you!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests