djday51
Topic Author

Languages

Sun 10 May 2020, 14:55

Im very new to the game and apologies if this has been covered already, but could someone give me an overview of the Languages spoken and written in the Forbidden lands? and am I correct in thinking that the Lore skill would cover language use, understanding and learning? is their a common type of language such as Trade Talk in Runequest?

Rgds
Dean

Ebrim

Re: Languages

Sun 10 May 2020, 15:31

I don’t think language is ever really dealt with.

It can be a fun thing to introduce languages to make the world feel more rich or mysterious in places but it also has the risk of closing down some interactions if you take it too far. I like the idea of using lore to decipher more ancient dialects or maybe get a clue into what text in a different language is saying though.
Catch me on Three Skulls Tavern: YouTube or Twitch, a Forbidden Lands AP which focuses on learning the game, playing Raven’s Purge

djday51
Topic Author

Mon 11 May 2020, 14:01

So each Kin does not have its own language? or has this not just been stated yet? Lore is the only skill I can see which would apply really. Maybe create a general talent called Linguist? making it possible to learn or understand other languages. So am I correct then in assuming the default of the game that there is a common tongue of some sort?

Mr Oldtimer

Mon 11 May 2020, 14:22

This has been discussed here as well [Language][/viewtopic.php?f=79&t=3849]

Ebrim

Mon 11 May 2020, 16:05