Arrows and POINTED weapons can never cause more than one point of damage to a skeleton. Other weapons cause normal damage.
So, the sword has EDGE and POINTED.
When it deals slash damage, is still dealing maximum one point of damage?
I would say: No! It is a big advantage of swords (and some other blade weapons) that you can choose between slash and stab (edged and pointed). So if you use a sword with a slash it is - in this action - not a pointed weapon. Therefore the damage against skeletons isn't affected by the special point-damage-rule. But I'm not a rule master, it is just my point of viewWhen it deals slash damage, is still dealing maximum one point of damage?
I did this once.Yeah, I'd also say the "max 1 point of damage" would only apply if the sword is being used to stab with.
Once that has been established around the gaming table, that's when you pull out the skeletons wearing chainmail! >D