User avatar
Rymdhamster
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat 11 Jan 2014, 16:40

Re: Ambidextrous and Knife Fighting

Tue 26 Feb 2019, 13:56

The RAW is no, because you only have a Max of two fast actions per turn.

Knife fighter is for if you want more accuracy but lower base damage. Two attacks per round with d8 artifact die but only 1 damage.

Ambidextrous is for if you want to attack twice with more powerful weapons.
This should be the correct interpretation.

Ambidextrious, at least how it's worded in the swedish version, does not let you attack twice on one action. It let's you use your fast action to perform the second attack.
So since both ambidextrious and knife fighter only let's you use short actions for attacks, you are pretty much limited to only 2 attacks per round with this combination.
To compare, Sword fighter lets you do two attacks (Against different enemies) as part of the same action. So if you had Sword fighter and ambidextrous, you could first attack two different enemies with your sword, and then perform a third attack (As your second action) against either one or even a third target.
Well, Swordfighter Tier 2 + Ambidextrous Tier 2 would actually allow the PC to make four attacks. Swordfighter Tier 2 states that the character can SLASH two opponents with the same action (rolled for as separate attacks) but says nothing about what kind of action. So the extra fast action attack from Ambidextrous Tier 2 would allow the character to make two additional SLASHes with a -2 modification. Ambidextrous Tier 3 removes the modification, so four SLASH attacks in one round. Makes three stabs with a knife seem quite reasonable, don't you think?
Hmmm... now we're talking! And now we are getting in to some interesting wording as well, or at least in the swedish version. Could some one tell me what the english version says for ambidextrious level on; does it say "one attack per round" or "an attack per round"?

While I agree with your interpretation, I think some GMs might take issue with the swedish version saying "one attack".

This does make me inclined to agree knife fighter + ambidextrious should grant three attacks together despite the wording there being more clear against it.
 
User avatar
The1TrueFredrix
Posts: 307
Joined: Fri 12 Aug 2016, 16:36
Contact:

Re: Ambidextrous and Knife Fighting

Tue 26 Feb 2019, 14:04

Rank 1: You can use your secondary weapon to perform one extra attack per round, as a fast action. It must be a LIGHT weapon and the attack is modified by –2.
Effekt - A fan podcast celebrating Swedish RPGs including, but not limited to: Alien; Coriolis; Forbidden Lands; Symbaroum; and Tales from the Loop. Featuring discussion magazine episodes and Actual Play recordings. https://effektpodcast.org/
 
User avatar
Rymdhamster
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat 11 Jan 2014, 16:40

Re: Ambidextrous and Knife Fighting

Tue 26 Feb 2019, 14:10

Rank 1: You can use your secondary weapon to perform one extra attack per round, as a fast action. It must be a LIGHT weapon and the attack is modified by –2.
Thank you!
I would still rule that when you make that one extra attack, swordfighter level 2 would kick in in giving you your fourth attack as well. But I think now we're in to territory were clarification from the leuge would be pretty nice to have =)
 
Koz’el
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon 18 Feb 2019, 17:50

Re: Ambidextrous and Knife Fighting

Wed 27 Feb 2019, 01:52

The word ‘extra’ is what’s throwing me off. Nowhere else does it say that.
 
User avatar
Rymdhamster
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat 11 Jan 2014, 16:40

Re: Ambidextrous and Knife Fighting

Wed 27 Feb 2019, 10:58

The word ‘extra’ is what’s throwing me off.  Nowhere else does it say that.
Hmm, interesting. It doesn't say "extra" in the swedish version. If I translate the swedish formulation word for word it would be "You can use your secondary weapon to perform one/a attack per round, as a short action."

I think the extra might be "a child of translation" =)
 
User avatar
Tomas
Site Admin
Posts: 4492
Joined: Fri 08 Apr 2011, 11:31

Re: Ambidextrous and Knife Fighting

Wed 27 Feb 2019, 11:43

Hello!

Yes, the word "extra" in the English text really shouldn't be there. To clarify:
  • Ambidextrous lets you use a fast action to attack with your secondary weapon (at Rank 1 it needs to be a light weapon, and at Rank 1 and 2 you get a -2 penalty).
  • Knife Fighter at Rank 2 lets you use a fast action to Stab with a knife (without penalty). That means there is some overlap with Ambidextrous - you still only have one slow and one fast action. With Knife Fighter Rank 2, you don't need a secondary weapon however - you can attack twice in the round with the same knife.
  • Swordfighter Rank 2 lets you Slash two enemies with the same attack (rolling separately for each). Combined with Ambidextrous it potentially does let you strike four times, yes! However, each strike in the two attacks needs to be directed at two different enemies, so you can't strike four times at the same enemy.
Fria Ligan
GZIP: Off