Koz’el
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon 18 Feb 2019, 17:50

Ambidextrous and Knife Fighting

Mon 25 Feb 2019, 06:48

Knife Fighting (Rank 2) states you can Stab as a fast action. Ambidextrous (Rank 1) states you gain an extra attack, as a fast action.
1. If I attack with daggers in both hands, do I get to Stab with a slow action, stab with a fast action, and then get an additional stab with my second dagger as an additional fast action?
 
Röteborgaren
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun 18 Jun 2017, 21:58

Re: Ambidextrous and Knife Fighting

Mon 25 Feb 2019, 09:17

You get one slow action + one fast action, alternatively no slow actions + two fast actions, in a turn.

You can't do one slow + two fast.

Some talents allow you to make additional attacks as free actions in addition to your regular actions, in which case that will be mentioned in the talent's description.
Resources for Forbidden Lands
Slumpgen NPC Generator for Android (EN, SE)
Collection of Houserules (EN, SE)
Fobbot the Discord Dice Bot (EN, SE)
 
User avatar
9littlebees
Posts: 530
Joined: Sat 18 Feb 2017, 14:22
Location: Rural Germany
Contact:

Re: Ambidextrous and Knife Fighting

Mon 25 Feb 2019, 10:36

OK, so Knife Fighting's stab as a fast action is a really good talent. It would let you attack twice in one round using the two fast actions.

Ambidextrous grants an extra attack (assuming you have a weapon in your second hand), so I would say yes, you could attack three times with those talent combinations. To imagine it visually, you're basically stabbing someone very quickly (Knife Fighting 2) with a knife in each hand (Ambidextrous 1).

I'm sure others will disagree me, but that's how I'd rule on it in my own game.
 
User avatar
Eldhierta
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu 19 Feb 2015, 10:39

Re: Ambidextrous and Knife Fighting

Mon 25 Feb 2019, 13:45

OK, so Knife Fighting's stab as a fast action is a really good talent. It would let you attack twice in one round using the two fast actions.

Ambidextrous grants an extra attack (assuming you have a weapon in your second hand), so I would say yes, you could attack three times with those talent combinations. To imagine it visually, you're basically stabbing someone very quickly (Knife Fighting 2) with a knife in each hand (Ambidextrous 1).

I'm sure others will disagree me, but that's how I'd rule on it in my own game.
I support this ruling +1
 
Derp_Stevenson
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri 11 Jan 2019, 20:19

Re: Ambidextrous and Knife Fighting

Tue 26 Feb 2019, 06:43

The RAW is no, because you only have a Max of two fast actions per turn.

Knife fighter is for if you want more accuracy but lower base damage. Two attacks per round with d8 artifact die but only 1 damage.

Ambidextrous is for if you want to attack twice with more powerful weapons.
 
Koz’el
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon 18 Feb 2019, 17:50

Re: Ambidextrous and Knife Fighting

Tue 26 Feb 2019, 08:07

The RAW is no, because you only have a Max of two fast actions per turn.

Knife fighter is for if you want more accuracy but lower base damage. Two attacks per round with d8 artifact die but only 1 damage.

Ambidextrous is for if you want to attack twice with more powerful weapons.
I can’t find where the book states a maximum on actions. Page 85 clearly states that one slow and one fast, or two fast actions are typical, but many talents break the RAW. Couldn’t this possibly be one of those “talents alter the rules as written” scenarios?
 
User avatar
Sherman
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed 06 Feb 2019, 09:24
Contact:

Re: Ambidextrous and Knife Fighting

Tue 26 Feb 2019, 09:01

I can’t find where the book states a maximum on actions. Page  85 clearly states that one slow and one fast, or two fast actions are typical, but many talents break the RAW. Couldn’t this possibly be one of those “talents alter the rules as written” scenarios?
Can you explain further? I haven't noticed anything that got you free actions. A couple things convert slow actions into fast actions, but that seems to be as fast as you get... It's still just two total actions.
 
User avatar
Rymdhamster
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat 11 Jan 2014, 16:40

Re: Ambidextrous and Knife Fighting

Tue 26 Feb 2019, 11:16

The RAW is no, because you only have a Max of two fast actions per turn.

Knife fighter is for if you want more accuracy but lower base damage. Two attacks per round with d8 artifact die but only 1 damage.

Ambidextrous is for if you want to attack twice with more powerful weapons.
This should be the correct interpretation.

Ambidextrious, at least how it's worded in the swedish version, does not let you attack twice on one action. It let's you use your fast action to perform the second attack.
So since both ambidextrious and knife fighter only let's you use short actions for attacks, you are pretty much limited to only 2 attacks per round with this combination.
To compare, Sword fighter lets you do two attacks (Against different enemies) as part of the same action. So if you had Sword fighter and ambidextrous, you could first attack two different enemies with your sword, and then perform a third attack (As your second action) against either one or even a third target.
 
User avatar
lupex
Posts: 597
Joined: Sun 08 Oct 2017, 13:16

Re: Ambidextrous and Knife Fighting

Tue 26 Feb 2019, 12:25

I agree that as per RAW this combination doesn't give an opportunity to perform three attacks.  Only to either attack twice as fast actions using a weapon in the dominant hand or two attacks using a weapon in each hand with a -2 penalty to the second attack.

However, I would allow it based on the XP investment, the penalties imposed on the extra attack, and ,perhaps more importantly, its pretty cool.
 
User avatar
Eldhierta
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu 19 Feb 2015, 10:39

Re: Ambidextrous and Knife Fighting

Tue 26 Feb 2019, 13:21

The RAW is no, because you only have a Max of two fast actions per turn.

Knife fighter is for if you want more accuracy but lower base damage. Two attacks per round with d8 artifact die but only 1 damage.

Ambidextrous is for if you want to attack twice with more powerful weapons.
This should be the correct interpretation.

Ambidextrious, at least how it's worded in the swedish version, does not let you attack twice on one action. It let's you use your fast action to perform the second attack.
So since both ambidextrious and knife fighter only let's you use short actions for attacks, you are pretty much limited to only 2 attacks per round with this combination.
To compare, Sword fighter lets you do two attacks (Against different enemies) as part of the same action. So if you had Sword fighter and ambidextrous, you could first attack two different enemies with your sword, and then perform a third attack (As your second action) against either one or even a third target.
Well, Swordfighter Tier 2 + Ambidextrous Tier 2 would actually allow the PC to make four attacks. Swordfighter Tier 2 states that the character can SLASH two opponents with the same action (rolled for as separate attacks) but says nothing about what kind of action. So the extra fast action attack from Ambidextrous Tier 2 would allow the character to make two additional SLASHes with a -2 modification. Ambidextrous Tier 3 removes the modification, so four SLASH attacks in one round. Makes three stabs with a knife seem quite reasonable, don't you think?
GZIP: Off