RichardPF
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed 25 Jul 2018, 04:56

Spell Casting & Free Hands

Wed 30 Jan 2019, 21:05

Can a Druid/Sorcerer cast a spell (without using an ingredient) with a shield or weapon in one hand? What if they are using an ingredient? 
 
User avatar
andarp
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat 24 Mar 2018, 15:32

Re: Spell Casting & Free Hands

Sun 03 Feb 2019, 11:59

Can a Druid/Sorcerer cast a spell (without using an ingredient) with a shield or weapon in one hand? What if they are using an ingredient? 
Very much a GM discretion thing I feel. Kinda depends on the magic as well I would say. Symbolism involves drawing symbols or using already drawn symbols so I feel like it would be difficult to perform with both hands occupied. But druidic magic feels more of a "draw upon the powers of the land" type of magic where maybe you whisper something to the trees and animals - that probably could work while wielding a weapon and shield.
 
User avatar
Tomas
Site Admin
Posts: 4483
Joined: Fri 08 Apr 2011, 11:31

Re: Spell Casting & Free Hands

Sat 16 Feb 2019, 22:39

As a general rule, magic users can cast spells even with sword in hand.
Fria Ligan
 
RichardPF
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed 25 Jul 2018, 04:56

Re: Spell Casting & Free Hands

Mon 18 Feb 2019, 18:02

Thank you!
 
Derp_Stevenson
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri 11 Jan 2019, 20:19

Re: Spell Casting & Free Hands

Tue 26 Feb 2019, 06:54

Note that Symbolism magic says in the book that you do need a free hand to do the spells. None of the others do though.
GZIP: Off