RichardPF
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed 25 Jul 2018, 04:56

Spell Casting & Free Hands

Wed 30 Jan 2019, 21:05

Can a Druid/Sorcerer cast a spell (without using an ingredient) with a shield or weapon in one hand? What if they are using an ingredient? 
 
User avatar
andarp
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat 24 Mar 2018, 15:32

Re: Spell Casting & Free Hands

Sun 03 Feb 2019, 11:59

Can a Druid/Sorcerer cast a spell (without using an ingredient) with a shield or weapon in one hand? What if they are using an ingredient? 
Very much a GM discretion thing I feel. Kinda depends on the magic as well I would say. Symbolism involves drawing symbols or using already drawn symbols so I feel like it would be difficult to perform with both hands occupied. But druidic magic feels more of a "draw upon the powers of the land" type of magic where maybe you whisper something to the trees and animals - that probably could work while wielding a weapon and shield.
 
User avatar
Tomas
Site Admin
Posts: 4516
Joined: Fri 08 Apr 2011, 11:31

Re: Spell Casting & Free Hands

Sat 16 Feb 2019, 22:39

As a general rule, magic users can cast spells even with sword in hand.
Fria Ligan
 
RichardPF
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed 25 Jul 2018, 04:56

Re: Spell Casting & Free Hands

Mon 18 Feb 2019, 18:02

Thank you!
 
Derp_Stevenson
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri 11 Jan 2019, 20:19

Re: Spell Casting & Free Hands

Tue 26 Feb 2019, 06:54

Note that Symbolism magic says in the book that you do need a free hand to do the spells. None of the others do though.
 
Galdor
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun 05 Jan 2020, 22:57

Re: Spell Casting & Free Hands

Sun 05 Jan 2020, 23:08

As a general rule, magic users can cast spells even with sword in hand.
Can you cast spells even with both hands occupied, by say, weapon and shield? Or does it depend on the equipped items in question or the magic school?
If not, I would assume you can if you conceal the spell by putting an extra point in it?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests