Page 1 of 2

Artifact Dice

Posted: Mon 15 Jan 2018, 14:28
by 9littlebees
Just a quick question.  It's clear in the Alpha that the Artifact Dice grant multiple bonuses based on their results above 6, however, it is not mentioned whether a 1 on the artifact dice will / should contribute toward breaking gear, if the roll is pushed.  While my original thought is "of course it would", I can see an argument for both answers.

Does anyone know?  Reason I'm asking is that I won't be buying the custom dice, but can easily make my own artifact dice (I have tons of blank dice at home) and I want to know if the 1 is counted as a bane, or if it is ignored on pushed rolls, like Skill Dice...

The image of the custom dice from the Kickstarter doesn't shed any light, because the 1 face on all the dice doesn't show a "bane" (a skull), and we don't know if these dice are for Base, Skill or Gear.

This would be worth clarifying in the rules for other groups who aren't using the custom dice.

Re: Artifact Dice

Posted: Wed 17 Jan 2018, 11:00
by Tomas
Hello!

The idea is that artifact dice will have a bane on the one, yes.

Re: Artifact Dice

Posted: Wed 17 Jan 2018, 13:15
by 9littlebees
Hello!

The idea is that artifact dice will have a bane on the one, yes.
Perfect, thanks. So the Pride die (the same d12, right?) will also have a bane and cause Misery?

Re: Artifact Dice

Posted: Wed 17 Jan 2018, 20:24
by Tomas
That's the idea, yes.

Re: Artifact Dice

Posted: Wed 17 Jan 2018, 20:31
by Fenhorn
This pride dice, is that re-rolled as well, if you push?

Re: Artifact Dice

Posted: Wed 17 Jan 2018, 21:38
by Tomas
If you want to push, you need to do it before activating your pride.

Re: Artifact Dice

Posted: Wed 17 Jan 2018, 22:54
by lupex
If you want to push, you need to do it before activating your pride.
What's the reasoning behind this limitation?

Re: Artifact Dice

Posted: Fri 19 Jan 2018, 02:12
by Tomas
The idea is that the pride should be the last resort.

Re: Artifact Dice

Posted: Fri 19 Jan 2018, 10:38
by lupex
The idea is that the pride should be the last resort.
Narratively I was thinking that you would have to declare using your pride before rolling, I must have missed that this isn't the case.

I think it would be interesting to be able to push the pride dice, adding an extra layer of decision making as pushing the pride dice would increase your chances of getting additional stunts but also increase chances of losing your pride on a failed dice roll.

Re: Artifact Dice

Posted: Tue 23 Jan 2018, 17:42
by lupex
The idea is that the pride should be the last resort.
Also, it seems that it will be easy for players to declare the use of pride after the roll has succeeded, to attempt to generate additional stunts.  Is this intended?