User avatar
9littlebees
Topic Author
Posts: 532
Joined: Sat 18 Feb 2017, 14:22
Location: Rural Germany
Contact:

Artifact Dice

Mon 15 Jan 2018, 14:28

Just a quick question.  It's clear in the Alpha that the Artifact Dice grant multiple bonuses based on their results above 6, however, it is not mentioned whether a 1 on the artifact dice will / should contribute toward breaking gear, if the roll is pushed.  While my original thought is "of course it would", I can see an argument for both answers.

Does anyone know?  Reason I'm asking is that I won't be buying the custom dice, but can easily make my own artifact dice (I have tons of blank dice at home) and I want to know if the 1 is counted as a bane, or if it is ignored on pushed rolls, like Skill Dice...

The image of the custom dice from the Kickstarter doesn't shed any light, because the 1 face on all the dice doesn't show a "bane" (a skull), and we don't know if these dice are for Base, Skill or Gear.

This would be worth clarifying in the rules for other groups who aren't using the custom dice.
 
User avatar
Tomas
Site Admin
Posts: 4513
Joined: Fri 08 Apr 2011, 11:31

Re: Artifact Dice

Wed 17 Jan 2018, 11:00

Hello!

The idea is that artifact dice will have a bane on the one, yes.
Fria Ligan
 
User avatar
9littlebees
Topic Author
Posts: 532
Joined: Sat 18 Feb 2017, 14:22
Location: Rural Germany
Contact:

Re: Artifact Dice

Wed 17 Jan 2018, 13:15

Hello!

The idea is that artifact dice will have a bane on the one, yes.
Perfect, thanks. So the Pride die (the same d12, right?) will also have a bane and cause Misery?
 
User avatar
Tomas
Site Admin
Posts: 4513
Joined: Fri 08 Apr 2011, 11:31

Re: Artifact Dice

Wed 17 Jan 2018, 20:24

That's the idea, yes.
Fria Ligan
 
User avatar
Fenhorn
Moderator
Posts: 1933
Joined: Thu 24 Apr 2014, 15:03
Location: The Pearl of Lake Vänern.

Re: Artifact Dice

Wed 17 Jan 2018, 20:31

This pride dice, is that re-rolled as well, if you push?
“Thanks for noticin' me.” - Eeyore
 
User avatar
Tomas
Site Admin
Posts: 4513
Joined: Fri 08 Apr 2011, 11:31

Re: Artifact Dice

Wed 17 Jan 2018, 21:38

If you want to push, you need to do it before activating your pride.
Fria Ligan
 
User avatar
lupex
Posts: 756
Joined: Sun 08 Oct 2017, 13:16

Re: Artifact Dice

Wed 17 Jan 2018, 22:54

If you want to push, you need to do it before activating your pride.
What's the reasoning behind this limitation?
 
User avatar
Tomas
Site Admin
Posts: 4513
Joined: Fri 08 Apr 2011, 11:31

Re: Artifact Dice

Fri 19 Jan 2018, 02:12

The idea is that the pride should be the last resort.
Fria Ligan
 
User avatar
lupex
Posts: 756
Joined: Sun 08 Oct 2017, 13:16

Re: Artifact Dice

Fri 19 Jan 2018, 10:38

The idea is that the pride should be the last resort.
Narratively I was thinking that you would have to declare using your pride before rolling, I must have missed that this isn't the case.

I think it would be interesting to be able to push the pride dice, adding an extra layer of decision making as pushing the pride dice would increase your chances of getting additional stunts but also increase chances of losing your pride on a failed dice roll.
 
User avatar
lupex
Posts: 756
Joined: Sun 08 Oct 2017, 13:16

Re: Artifact Dice

Tue 23 Jan 2018, 17:42

The idea is that the pride should be the last resort.
Also, it seems that it will be easy for players to declare the use of pride after the roll has succeeded, to attempt to generate additional stunts.  Is this intended?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests