Would the number of torches or lanterns affect the amount of dmg per round? Or is it a single d3 regardless of how many light sources at arm's length?Still within Arm's Length no?
Slightly more seriously, I'd let the players attack with the torch or lantern as a regular attack (Base Melee, Dmg 1, Blunt) and apply the bonus light damage per round as a separate entity. So, no "extra" damage but they can use the light source to attack the Bloodling.
I think this makes sense, also I'd use a moth to flame mentality, and more bloodlings would be attracted to the light until the light is gone. Otherwise 300 years doesn't make sense, a couple of fires and they'd be gone.I think just the 1d3... my watch word for rulings in this system is always default to the hardest setting.