Yep! Klas bas is right.
As said on the "more predictible Magic mishaps" topic, rules by the Book are :
- i'm rank 1, planning to cast rank 2 spell.
- i need 1 WP (at least, depending on the effectivement) and suffer one mishap.
Here, i use only 1WP.
- thé Power of the spell is 1 then.
- if i use ingrédient, the Power rises to 2
- if the spell is written, its rank become 1 and i no more suffer automatic mishap. I Roll to see.
BUT there is one way to reduce power impact with writing a spell down : secure casting.
This is only possible if my rank is strictly higher than those of the spell.
If i cast a rank 2 spell written, its rank is 1.
As my own rank is 1 too, i can't securise thé cast.
The written spell casting rule allows to secure spells that were originally of my rank, not above, since they fall one rank lower.
If i cast a rank 1 spell written, its actual rank is 0. I Can secure one die.
It doesn't change the power level. It just change thé risk of getting a mishap by reducing it, as thé risk is a consequence of the power level.
This is the only way i Can see, by the Book, to interact with the power level with writing a spell.
If not, no more effects.