Spiraller
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon 01 Oct 2018, 09:47

Can you write down chance-cast spells in your grimoire?

Fri 15 Mar 2019, 19:40

And thus make the spells cast at one rank lower and therefore avoid magic mishaps? E.g. Rank 2 to rank 1 or rank 3 to rank 2.
Last edited by Spiraller on Sat 16 Mar 2019, 16:59, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
mafusael
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat 15 Dec 2018, 23:09
Location: Russia

Re: Can you write down chance-cast spells in your grimoire?

Fri 15 Mar 2019, 23:20

And thus make the spells cast at one rank lower and therefore avoid magic mishaps? E.g. Rank 2 to rank 1 or rank 3 to rank 2.
Yes, you just need to cast the spell once
Custom GM Screen and Character Sheet for FbL
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1NTsVe ... YaBTUd9Rau
 
User avatar
Eldhierta
Posts: 367
Joined: Thu 19 Feb 2015, 10:39

Re: Can you write down chance-cast spells in your grimoire?

Fri 15 Mar 2019, 23:38

I disagree with the above. When you chance cast, you do just that. You take a chance and cast a spell that you can't control, somehow pulling it off by the skin of your teeth. The way you cast it worked that time but it is not the proper way to cast it, hence the risk. The ranks in the talent represent learning the proper way to cast the spells, eliminating the dire consequences of chance casting. So no, in my opinion you can't write down a chance cast spell due to the simple fact that you don't exactly know why it worked, you took a chance. Just my two cents.
 
User avatar
Fenhorn
Moderator
Posts: 1406
Joined: Thu 24 Apr 2014, 15:03
Location: The Pearl of Lake Vänern.

Re: Can you write down chance-cast spells in your grimoire?

Fri 15 Mar 2019, 23:46

I allow it. You know what you did right and have learned from that. Not enough to fully understand the spell, but more than before. I think it is ok because the spell is still not exactly safe to cast. Not as safe as it will be when you increase the magic tradition rank.
“I’d say thistles, but nobody listens to me, anyway.” - Eeyore
 
User avatar
The1TrueFredrix
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri 12 Aug 2016, 16:36
Contact:

Re: Can you write down chance-cast spells in your grimoire?

Sat 16 Mar 2019, 00:34

I too would allow it. 
Effekt - A fan podcast celebrating Swedish RPGs including, but not limited to: Alien; Coriolis; Forbidden Lands; Symbaroum; and Tales from the Loop. Featuring discussion magazine episodes and Actual Play recordings. https://effektpodcast.org/
 
User avatar
lupex
Posts: 531
Joined: Sun 08 Oct 2017, 13:16

Re: Can you write down chance-cast spells in your grimoire?

Sat 16 Mar 2019, 11:05

There isn't anything in the rules to say you can't.

I would be inclined to allow it.
My Forbidden Lands Session Generator - https://perchance.org/fl-session-generator
(Legends, Villages, Castles, Dungeons and NPCs)

My Forbidden Lands Monster Generator - https://perchance.org/fl-monster-generator
 
User avatar
Eldhierta
Posts: 367
Joined: Thu 19 Feb 2015, 10:39

Re: Can you write down chance-cast spells in your grimoire?

Sat 16 Mar 2019, 12:18

I guess I'm the most evil GM around then =D I just want my players to suffer, is that so bad?
 
User avatar
pellejones
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed 22 Oct 2014, 23:14
Contact:

Re: Can you write down chance-cast spells in your grimoire?

Sat 16 Mar 2019, 14:47

I agree with Eldhierta. I dont let them write down spells of a higer level than their class skill.
 
User avatar
mafusael
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat 15 Dec 2018, 23:09
Location: Russia

Re: Can you write down chance-cast spells in your grimoire?

Sat 16 Mar 2019, 15:40

Rule clearly says that if you cast spell once you can write it down in Book (without any costs, just ink, time and Lore check). If GM does not allow to write down high rank spells there is only one option to use Grimoire: Safe Casting.

If mage do not use Safe Casting rule with Grimoire to cast spell as lower level and reduce dice for magic roll there is no use of Grimoire at all.

Help me with that please
- why mage do not have Grimoire at start?
- how to appraise the Grimoire?
- is druid can have Grimoire or sorcerer only?
Custom GM Screen and Character Sheet for FbL
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1NTsVe ... YaBTUd9Rau
 
User avatar
hperantunes
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon 02 Oct 2017, 02:02

Re: Can you write down chance-cast spells in your grimoire?

Sat 16 Mar 2019, 22:47

The way I read the rules this seems to be allowed, yes.

Though it allows for a fresh, newly-created druid or sorcerer to do this:
  1. Eschew your initial general talent for Rank 2 on your magical path.
  2. Chance-cast your favorite Rank 3 spell and pray to Rust you don't die in the process.
  3. Grab some parchment and ink, succeed in your Lore test, and write it down.
  4. Go wild, happily casting the aforementioned Rank 3 spell from your grimoire like a boss - not bad for someone who has just learned to cast spells, eh?
GZIP: Off