Quick question regarding max bonus.
There sometimes references to a "max +3 bonus limit" for skill rolls. What is included and excluded in that?
- Base roll
- Item (+1 to +3)
- Assist (+ num of rolled 6s)
- Info (+1 to +3)
- Helping NPC (+1 to +3)
- Bonus success (from another kid's extra success to some skills)
- Lead-skill dice pool
1) If I roll my base skill, using an iconic item and get one assist dice from another kid – can I then get info bonus or extra succeses from another kid's previous roll?
2) If I use a +2 from information gained, can I then add +2 from an NPC?
3) With the Lead skill's dice pool giving up to 6 dice – can I use only up to 3 of them, or all?
I'm thinking this makes sense to me:
Attribute+Skill (max 5+5), +Item/Info/NPC (max +3), +Assist/DicePool/Bonuses (max +3) = maximum total of 16 dice
Or perhaps it's better to say that the limit from any ONE source (except attribute/skill) is +3, and the total bonus dice ever (any combination) is +5, which means you have a nice rule of:
- Attribute, max 5
- Skill, max 5
- Bonuses, max 5
Max total, ever, is 15 dice, which should be able to give you 3 successes (aka "Almost Impossible) – and definitely so by pushing the roll.