User avatar
Fenhorn
Moderator
Topic Author
Posts: 3134
Joined: Thu 24 Apr 2014, 15:03
Location: Vänerns Pärla

Errata & Clarifications

Wed 29 Dec 2021, 23:06

There will be an official FAQ eventually, but until then:

Errata:
  • There are more Rumor and Diary cards than the rulebook say.
  • Diary Card L4B has a reference to a response mode for the Magnetrine Ship. This is an old reference and should just be ignored. The Magnetrine Ship doesn't use response cards.
  • Diary Card R7A is misprinted. Flavour text is right but the ruletext should be:

    "The RUNAWAY is never First Player and does not participate in the School Phase. It starts where it ended last turn.

    The Machine starts out with 6 <time> to use for actions each round.
    It can TRADE, SCOUT, INVESTIGATE, MACHINE RIDE, HELP, use DECOY and carry Kids up to its CAPACITY. It has the strengths TOUGH, BRAVE and QUICK. It may carry 4 ITEMS, but can’t use them for bonus on tests, and the ICONIC ITEM counts as a regular ITEM.

    Flip card for rules about conditions and REST."

Clarifications:
  • The rulebook sometimes say Turn here and there. That is the same thing as Round.
  • Firmware Upgrade, if it happens, causes Hacked Machines to Reset. Machines that aren't Hacked do not Reset (i.e. they stay where they are).
  • The players can spend their time cubes in any order they wish.
  • It cost only one time cube to move from one Restricted Location to another Restricted Location. The increased cost to two time cubes only applies when moving from an Open Location to a Restricted Location.
  • The players may run into a situation where they need to discard a battery card. Any item or anomaly card with the battery tag on it will do.
  • The Home for Dinner action isn't considered a Move action and isn't affected by Nearby Machines. It is something you do to end your Round.
“Thanks for noticin' me.” - Eeyore
 
drfunk
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon 03 Jan 2022, 17:14

Re: Errata & Clarifications

Mon 03 Jan 2022, 17:20

Can you please uload here or at BGG an updated Diary Card L4B, so we can print them out.
 
Sullyred
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon 03 Jan 2022, 17:49

Re: Errata & Clarifications

Mon 03 Jan 2022, 17:55

Hi, I'm not sure if I've missed something?
I've played the first scenario Bot Amok.
At what point does the scenario finish?
I was doing well on insight.I took my eye off completing the rumour cards and enigma reached the end of the dial.
I'm guessing I lost that scenario?
I couldn't find any clarification.
Apologies for the silly question!
 
User avatar
Fenhorn
Moderator
Topic Author
Posts: 3134
Joined: Thu 24 Apr 2014, 15:03
Location: Vänerns Pärla

Re: Errata & Clarifications

Mon 03 Jan 2022, 18:00

Can you please uload here or at BGG an updated Diary Card L4B, so we can print them out.
Martin said that they can do that, together with some other clarifications and stuff.
“Thanks for noticin' me.” - Eeyore
 
User avatar
Fenhorn
Moderator
Topic Author
Posts: 3134
Joined: Thu 24 Apr 2014, 15:03
Location: Vänerns Pärla

Re: Errata & Clarifications

Mon 03 Jan 2022, 18:07

Hi, I'm not sure if I've missed something?
I've played the first scenario Bot Amok.
At what point does the scenario finish?
I was doing well on insight.I took my eye off completing the rumour cards and enigma reached the end of the dial.
I'm guessing I lost that scenario?
I couldn't find any clarification.
Apologies for the silly question!
The diary card will tell you how the scenario goes. Your mission in each scenario is listed there. So in Bot Amok! the first diary card (B1, side A) tells you that you need to go to N and look at the nearby machine (i.e. you need to spend two time cubes there) and when you do you flip B1 to its B side and so on. Eventually you will get a diary card that will tell you what you use the insight and enigma points for. If you haven't got a diary card that tells you what to do by the end of the scenario (2 weeks for the Bot Amok! scenario), you loose.

I don't want to put the exact diary card text and what happens when here because of spoilers.
“Thanks for noticin' me.” - Eeyore
 
Sullyred
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon 03 Jan 2022, 17:49

Re: Errata & Clarifications

Mon 03 Jan 2022, 18:11

Ah yes, reaching the end of week 2 without resolution makes sense.
That's the way I played it in the end.
Thank you for the quick reply!
 
User avatar
9littlebees
Posts: 534
Joined: Sat 18 Feb 2017, 14:22
Location: Rural Germany
Contact:

Re: Errata & Clarifications

Fri 07 Jan 2022, 11:32

Played Light Fantastic yesterday (3 players). One of the rumour cards references finding a book about magnetrine ships and if successful, tells you to take an item with the Knowledge tag. One of us shady got the School Books from an earlier rumour, and it turns out there aren't any other Knowledge items / books in the deck. I'd recommend adding a second one or tweaking the wording of the rumor card.

Also, we got a bit helduup with confusion around "turns" and "rounds". I'd suggest ditching both terms completely and just use "day" or "1⏱" like everywhere else.

It's not terribly clear about what happens with hacking the ship at the end. On our first attempt we cleared 2 but failed on the 3rd. Should they have been reset after the failure, or should we just attempt the 3rd firewall for the next attempt? I opted for the latter because without having the robot's hacking mechanics, it was an awfully boring roll-a-thon conclusion to the story (each firewall had 2 symbols on it, we failed on the very last roll on the first attempt, so we made a total of 8 tests). Perhaps adding a magnetrine sheet (similar to the robots) would make this a bit more dynamic? While it also wasn't super clear, we mixed up who was rolling each time (all 3 of us were there) so the best person rolled (with help), which gave us the best chance of succeeding and ensured it wasn't just one person rolling all the time!

Anyway, that's my feedback, otherwise we really enjoyed session 2, and the story!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest