tgunner91
Topic Author

Rolling YOURSELF up???

Mon 22 Nov 2021, 01:12

So here's a question for you vets out there-

Are any of you going to "roll" yourself up? Like make yourself a character?

I haven't really read the fluff for this version of the game, but I'm pretty familiar with the setting from back in the day and know the basic timeline. That takes me to this question to be honest. I was a 26 year old veteran who saw action in the Gulf back in '91 and I actually received my discharge in '97. If this war broke out in '96 like the history said I would have been in the IRR and I was a 19K10 Abrams crewman, so yeah, it's a given that I would have been recalled, given refresher training, and sent to Europe as an individual replacement or I would have joined a unit deploying to Europe right after REFORGER kicked off (I wonder what the chances would have been for me to rejoin my old unit- 2-34 Armor? They certainly would have been there!).

And before you think I'm weird, I have played a scenario in the old video game Steel Panthers that had MY OLD TANK in it! So I've actually played myself in a game before (it was a bummer when I messed up and had my own tank hit a mine though! I could almost hear my old TC yell, "CASE!!!!!!!")

Anyway, any of you think of doing that? Would you? Or would it be too weird for you?

I'm curious to hear what y'all think.

Tgunner.

Shroud

Re: Rolling YOURSELF up???

Mon 22 Nov 2021, 04:06

Hey welcome to these forums, I'm new here myself
I served from 84 to 93 with one deployment to the Middle East in the Navy.