Hi, I have a question about ambushing. It states in the rules (p.60) that if you fail while trying to sneak up on somebody, the target spots you at your starting distance.
What I wonder is, if a pc sees an enemy at say 8 hexes and decide to sneak to the same hex as the target, do the pc roll a sneak roll once with a -2 modifier to get to the same hex. Or does he roll once for each step closer to the target according to the table at p.61?
The second method is the one I would prefer, since I think it would be progressively more difficult to get closer and closer to the target, instead of just rolling once, which is easier to just push, if needed and then be done with it. And if it is a single roll, a fail means that the pc is spotted directly, no matter how far away he started, which I don't think is correct.