joaoperru
Topic Author

Damage from firearms... Part 2

Wed 08 Sep 2021, 16:57

Hi all!
Went deep in the combat system and came out with these thoughts: firearms combat may function as it is, but as a Referee i think i will have problems in running a (sort of) realistic combat where a 5.56mm, the majority of times, will *just* do 2 points of damage for example to the head, or to the torso. Simple as that.
Reaching 2 successes to do a crit can be very tough. I really cannot imagine all the various ways to invent the circumstances to explain to my players why 85% of the times they lose some hit points and that's all. Grazing bullets all the way?
I come from realistic rpgs (GURPS above all), in which, like in reality, it's quite difficult to hit in the middle of a fight, but if you hit the job is done. One way or another.
Is there something that i miss here? Is it right that the more difficult a shot may be, the less dangerous it is? Maybe a melee hit, but the firearm hit location should be the quintessential of the randomness of a wound (aiming at location aside).
Is there someone else that shares my thoughts?

(sorry for my english, i'm not a native english speaker.)

Thanks to all.
Last edited by joaoperru on Wed 27 Oct 2021, 09:08, edited 1 time in total.

paladin2019

Re: Damage from firearms

Wed 08 Sep 2021, 22:42

I'm not sure this is a problem. Do you want a game as deadly for PCs as GURPS ( :lol: ) or pre-RED Cyberpunk? Is an average hit cap of ~4 too much? If so, you can tweak the the hit capacity calculation or the damage dealt. Or both. Another option is to change the firing paradigm; basic to hit chances are based on quick shots (T2k 1E's take) rather than the current aimed shot basis (like in T2k 2E)