User avatar
omnipus
Posts: 462
Joined: Mon 22 Jun 2020, 20:58

Re: Rule Clarification: Suppression (2 questions)

Tue 04 May 2021, 01:14

Well, it's important because seeing your buddy take damage triggers a CUF check. Stress is not damage, so seeing your buddy take stress (for instance, by failing a CUF check) does not trigger a CUF check. This eliminates one potentially enormous source of stress cascades.
 
User avatar
Fenhorn
Moderator
Posts: 2665
Joined: Thu 24 Apr 2014, 15:03
Location: Vänerns Pärla

Re: Rule Clarification: Suppression (2 questions)

Tue 04 May 2021, 01:24

Well, it's important because seeing your buddy take damage triggers a CUF check. Stress is not damage, so seeing your buddy take stress (for instance, by failing a CUF check) does not trigger a CUF check. This eliminates one potentially enormous source of stress cascades.
If it is me you address then: I know, I know the rules. I just used the wrong term because of the reason I wrote about in the post above.
“Thanks for noticin' me.” - Eeyore
 
User avatar
omnipus
Posts: 462
Joined: Mon 22 Jun 2020, 20:58

Re: Rule Clarification: Suppression (2 questions)

Tue 04 May 2021, 03:20

Wasn't addressing anyone in particular in that last comment.
 
User avatar
CherryC0p
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue 29 Dec 2020, 00:08

Re: Rule Clarification: Suppression (2 questions)

Tue 04 May 2021, 05:27

Well, it's important because seeing your buddy take damage triggers a CUF check. Stress is not damage, so seeing your buddy take stress (for instance, by failing a CUF check) does not trigger a CUF check. This eliminates one potentially enormous source of stress cascades.
To follow up on this, could someone get 2 stress per turn (action?, attack?), one from Panic Spreads and one from watching a buddy (the target that failed a CUF) take damage?

The stress from seeing a buddy take damage does assume line of sight I would hope, it's not stated.



Edit: Also page 77 states that stress is damage (may be a typo):

"You can suffer stress in several different ways. These are the two most common:
- By pushing a skill roll. If you push a skill roll using INT or EMP, you suffer 1 point of damage for each [1] rolled on your base dice."


Edit 2: because im now reading this more in depth, it seems that in my above example, the subject would roll up to two CUF. 1 for panic spreading if the Target (their Buddy) fails their CUF, and 1 for seeing the Target take damage (regardless of the Target's CUF Roll). The second roll is against "potential stress" and each success negates one of the potential stress. Being suppressed is not the same as being Incapacitated, so in this example, provided both parties are in the same hex and within line of sight they would get the Unit Morale bonus.
IMO this is overly complex, and even more so if we do count Stress as "Damage", because RAW would then make the original target, the Buddy, make his own second roll against stress for seeing his buddy take "damage".

TLDR: Stress is a bit broken, and FL should maybe differentiate physical damage from stress in better terms. Clarity will help in this situation.
I do this in real life for fun on the weekends. #SurviveOmega #DoMoreWithLess
 
User avatar
Tomas
Site Admin
Posts: 4594
Joined: Fri 08 Apr 2011, 11:31

Re: Rule Clarification: Suppression (2 questions)

Tue 04 May 2021, 15:40

There are some unclarities in the rules as written in the Beta, these will be fixed. A single attack or event can only ever trigger one CUF roll for the same person, never several.
Fria Ligan
 
User avatar
CherryC0p
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue 29 Dec 2020, 00:08

Re: Rule Clarification: Suppression (2 questions)

Tue 04 May 2021, 15:50

There are some unclarities in the rules as written in the Beta, these will be fixed. A single attack or event can only ever trigger one CUF roll for the same person, never several.
Yeah that is clear but wouldn't the Attack (and subsequent Panic Spreads on a Failed CUF from the target) and seeing the buddy take damage be separate events?
I do this in real life for fun on the weekends. #SurviveOmega #DoMoreWithLess
 
User avatar
Tomas
Site Admin
Posts: 4594
Joined: Fri 08 Apr 2011, 11:31

Re: Rule Clarification: Suppression (2 questions)

Tue 04 May 2021, 17:24

There are some unclarities in the rules as written in the Beta, these will be fixed. A single attack or event can only ever trigger one CUF roll for the same person, never several.
Yeah that is clear but wouldn't the Attack (and subsequent Panic Spreads on a Failed CUF from the target) and seeing the buddy take damage be separate events?
No. A single attack can only ever trigger one CUF roll for the same person, even if this attack causes multiple effects that would trigger a CUF roll. This will be clarified in the rules.
Fria Ligan
 
User avatar
CherryC0p
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue 29 Dec 2020, 00:08

Re: Rule Clarification: Suppression (2 questions)

Tue 04 May 2021, 17:53

Thanks for clarifying. I'm glad the beta is actually bringing discussion on the rules rather than the Alpha feedback, which was mostly "X Rule Dumb, plz remove"
I do this in real life for fun on the weekends. #SurviveOmega #DoMoreWithLess
 
User avatar
Tomas
Site Admin
Posts: 4594
Joined: Fri 08 Apr 2011, 11:31

Re: Rule Clarification: Suppression (2 questions)

Wed 05 May 2021, 08:38

Thanks for clarifying. I'm glad the beta is actually bringing discussion on the rules rather than the Alpha feedback, which was mostly "X Rule Dumb, plz remove"
I fully agree!
Fria Ligan

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests