Your last sentence mentions "hitting zero hitpoints", which reminded me of a question I had:
The rules say "When you have suffered damage equal to or in excess of your hit capacity, you become incapacitated."
I'm assuming that means you can accumulate more damage than you hit capacity which would, in turn, mean that recovery will take longer. Or do you stop accumulating damage once you hit you max capacity?
Yes, you can't go below zero hit points.
Thank you for the clarification.
Doesn't that lead to an odd situation where I have one hit-point remaining and get hit by a (non-crit) MG burst for, say, 9 points of damage which would disable me with exactly the same consequences (a 5-second treatment by the combat medic to get me back on my feet) as a punch to the face?
By allowing hit points to go into negative, recovery would be much more difficult.