Well, I assume the initial travel is always paid for. But... the stagecoach they use “for free” never stays with them. So, they really consider upgrading the HQ for their own vehicles, because they’re tired of being stuck in dangerous places.
That was my assumption, as well.
But my read on the resources roll is a bit different than Fenhorn's...
As a house rule,
- Prep Phase: one big roll, everyone rolls. Can be used to get items, total Avl = ⚅'s rolled.
- Travel: initial travel presumed to be paid for, as none of the adventures I've read (3 of the 5 so far) call for players to pay for the travel. Later, player driven, travel is Manipulation.
- Anything after departure calls for manipulation rolls, not resources rolls.
I've allowed players to opt out of the group roll for a guarantee of one item of availability less than (but not equal to) Resources, but reducing resources for the rest of the adventure by the Availability. (This is actually borrowed from some other game with a resources roll system. I forget which. It isn't a Burning Wheel one, and it's not TSR's Marvel, but those use resources...)
Then again, my group's entire resources with 5p is 12 or 13 dice...
And I've seen them roll and push and get nothing...