1) Are players allowed to draw 2 Crusade Cards even when they don't have the Archbishop Development Card?
It's clear that they can only perform one Crusade action per Era without the Archbishop, but can they still draw and play the second card for the Event only? This seems like a useful strategy if allowed as the Crusade Events are beneficial for the player.
In the Crusade Cards section of the rule book it says:
"A player may not perform more than one Crusade action in a single Era, unless they have the Archbishop Development Card (at the time of choosing cards for the Round)."
"At the time of choosing cards for the Round" seems to imply that they must have an Archbishop to even draw a second Crusade card, but this is confirmed nowhere else. The rules only say (in several places) that you can draw 1-2 Crusade cards, the possible prerequisite is not mentioned.
2) The quote above also seems to imply that they are allowed to play the second Crusade card for both the Action and the Event even if they lose the Archbishop after the card draw. Is this correct? If it is, this seems to confirm that an Archbishop is a prerequisite for even drawing the second card (as the playing of the second card is then totally decoupled from the need to have an Archbishop; they can always play the second card for all of its effects if they can just draw it in the first place).
But this is all rules-lawyering conjecture based on an almost off-hand mention. I'd much rather know the actual intent of the designers. Also, to me this feels important enough to add to the FAQ.