I've some questions about the Ensnaring qualities and how does it works with both Ensnare & Whip Fighters abilities.
In the APG we can read the following :
Its not really clear to me how does it works. First of all, is the ensnaring roll is an additional roll after the attack roll or does it count as the attack roll. As I understand it, it is an additionnal roll to the attack roll, because it doesn't say that it counts as a combat action.The weapon can be used to snare a target, which is done with a passed [Accurate←Quick] test. An ensnared target cannot move and gets a second chance to fail all success tests. Every attempt to get free requires spending a combat action; this forces the attacker to test [Accurate←Quick] again in order to keep the target in check. Ensnaring melee weapons can be used to try to knock a target prone. The attempt counts as a combat action and requires a passed [Strong←Strong] to succeed. A fallen target cannot get up until it has been freed from the ensnaring effect.
On the contrary, knocking prone a target seems to be an attack roll, but it says that the fallen target must be freed from ensnaring effet, so knocking prone does also snare the target with no ensnaring roll ? Or you have to first ensnare the target and next turn, knock him prone ?
It seems to be OK with the description of ensnare ability where we can read :
But. Both are active abilties, so, either you do an attack roll and then an ensnare roll for which we have 2 chances, OR you do a knocking prone roll and you have also two chances.Novice Active. The character gains a second chance to ensnare a target (requires a weapon with the quality Ensnaring, see page 118).
Adept Active. In addition to the novice effect, the character gains a second chance to bring down an ensnared enemy (requires a weapon with the quality Ensnaring, see page 118).
But, why mention in the adept that it is then in addition to the novice effect and also mention the fact that the ennemy must be ensnared ? If they are two differents attacks why the addition mention ? And why are they Active ? Why not passive ?
It gets even weirder in master :
So now it is a reaction ... and the "ensnaring" seems to be automatic and the chance to bring down the enemy, an addtional roll. Am I right right finally ?Master Reaction. The character’s skill with ensnaring weapons is such that every ensnaring attack is assumed to hit the target’s neck and have a strangling effect; besides the ensnaring effect and the chance to bring down the enemy, the target suffers 1D6 damage, ignoring armor. If the target reaches 0 Toughness, the character can choose to make it unconscious instead of dying.
How would this work with the whip fighter ability if you have Ensnare in Master ? You do you whip attack roll, you ensnare the target if it succeeds, you try to knock him prone, and if you succeed it means that the free attack of the other hand will also have an advantage. So 1d6 whip damage, 1d6 ignoring armor and then second hand 1d8 + 1d6 (whip fighter master) + 1d4 (advantage) ?
I would be really happy if someone has answers on that, even so I know that I can do my own homemade rules, what do you think of the original rules ?