The idea from the start was that you can only carry one armor and that an armor counts as one item (besides the shield that in MYZ works like an armor in one direction). Eventually people started to comment on helmets, masks, etc. FL changed the rules (with the Swedish version it was done in a ZC, I don't know about the English version) so you can now carry one armor and one helmet. The jury-rigged rot-suit can be combined with a helmet (or a rot-mask if you make that). The rot-mask was something that existed in the Swedish version (cost 3-6, light rot-protection 2) but was removed in the English due to there was no rules for it (then).
With this new rules, you can have:
* one shield (rolled for first, if it applies).
* one armor.
* one helmet (rolled for last).
The hockey-helmet can be combined with the hockey-mask. There might be other combination and some artifacts may also change this.
“Thanks for noticin' me.” - Eeyore