User avatar
BlissRage
Topic Author
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri 21 Aug 2020, 06:00

Some Post Session Questions

Sun 03 Jan 2021, 08:00

1. Does repairing a jury-rigged but durable item mean it's still durable, or does the repair roll require a stunt to make it durable again?
2. Can a Zone Ghoul push their roll?
2. I heard there was an updated rule for Inspire (possibly only in Swedish editions and/or non-core book) . . . it seems too powerful and I would love to know updated rules. We made a rule that Inspire cannot be used to help on a specialist skill the Chronicler doesn't have and I'm thinking maybe Inspire should not be able to help any skill OR talent that the Chronicler inspiring does not also have. For example, we have a Gearhead using Zone Cook . . . should the Chronicler be able to Inspire even if they do not know Zone Cook themselves? It just seems the Inspire basically adds a pool to nearly every roll any other mutant in party does (especially outside combat). Thoughts?
 
User avatar
Fenhorn
Moderator
Posts: 2464
Joined: Thu 24 Apr 2014, 15:03
Location: Mariestad

Re: Some Post Session Questions

Sun 03 Jan 2021, 09:02

1. Does repairing a jury-rigged but durable item mean it's still durable, or does the repair roll require a stunt to make it durable again?
You only need to spend successes to repair the item. The repair roll can't add features to an item (such as durable).
2. Can a Zone Ghoul push their roll?
All humanoids can push their roll.
2. I heard there was an updated rule for Inspire (possibly only in Swedish editions and/or non-core book) . . . it seems too powerful and I would love to know updated rules. We made a rule that Inspire cannot be used to help on a specialist skill the Chronicler doesn't have and I'm thinking maybe Inspire should not be able to help any skill OR talent that the Chronicler inspiring does not also have. For example, we have a Gearhead using Zone Cook . . . should the Chronicler be able to Inspire even if they do not know Zone Cook themselves? It just seems the Inspire basically adds a pool to nearly every roll any other mutant in party does (especially outside combat). Thoughts?
Inspire was changed so it now gives bonus dice to the skill, not successes right away. A successful Inspire, gives a modification of +2 to the skill roll they are helping (or -2 to if they hinder it). Any extra successes gives another +1 to the roll (or -1).

Inspire is a super version of "help from others" (it replaces it). This means that Inspire can't be used on specialty skills. The rules doesn't say if he can use it on skill rolls that require a talent (like Zone Chef), but for me that is the same thing, so in our group, no the Chronicler can't inspire a skill roll he couldn't do himself, just as you can't help another character (giving him +1) with a skill roll that you couldn't roll for yourself due to lack of talents.
“Thanks for noticin' me.” - Eeyore

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest