Page 1 of 3

Stun Gun Question

Posted: Mon 03 Apr 2017, 17:53
by JohnK
Hullo, folks,

Here's a question about the rules covering Stun guns. 

The Stun Gun stats on the chart says both Stun in the CRIT line and as a Feature.  The Stun Feature says that it "inflicts stress instead of damage".

What exactly does this mean?  Does this mean that all damage from the Stun gun is always stress, and that a Critical causes the opponent's stress to drop to zero?  If that's the case, how does one determine whether a Stun gun attack does a Critical, as the chart doesn't indicate how many successes are required for the Critical?

Thanks, in advance. :)

Re: Stun Gun Question

Posted: Wed 05 Apr 2017, 20:15
by Tomas
Hi!

You can't crit with a stun gun.

Re: Stun Gun Question

Posted: Fri 07 Apr 2017, 00:46
by JohnK
Hi!

You can't crit with a stun gun.
Tomas,
Thanks for the answer to this, but...  if you can't do a Critical with a Stun gun, then why put the word "Stun" in the Critical column of the chart on page 126?
I actually like the option that I may use that a Stun gun crits on a 2, and that if a Critical ensues, the target is reduced to zero (0) stress.
How does that sound to you? :)

Re: Stun Gun Question

Posted: Mon 10 Apr 2017, 10:44
by Jegergryte
If you want a critical with the Stun gun to work as an automatic knock-out, I'd increase that Crit value to 3, perhaps 4. I think 2 is too low. But hey, YMMV.

Re: Stun Gun Question

Posted: Mon 10 Apr 2017, 17:44
by JohnK
If you want a critical with the Stun gun to work as an automatic knock-out, I'd increase that Crit value to 3, perhaps 4. I think 2 is too low. But hey, YMMV.
Hullo, Jegergryte,
I was throwing the value of 2 out there as a random thought and idea, but I like the idea of using a Crit 3 value.  Will use this in my games, and see how it works,

Re: Stun Gun Question

Posted: Mon 10 Apr 2017, 17:48
by Jegergryte
Yeah, I figured :)

Thinking about it 2 may not be too powerful, considering you'd have to roll 3 sixes to hit and do a knock-out. Crit 4 is probably a bit too much to require. :)

Re: Stun Gun Question

Posted: Sat 29 Apr 2017, 06:09
by Sensei
So, you guys are tossing around some totally reasonable houserules for stunning, but is there no official word on this? I actually came to this forum specifically to find an answer to this, because I can't see the stun grenade being effective in any way, shape, or form if it truly only does 1 stress point per use. I mean, the stun gun has "stun" under the 'Critical' header, so I can see just ruling an auto stun, except that there's no crit number to go along with that effect... but the grenade has nothing at all under the Crit column. Surely, one of the designers has explained someplace how these work, maybe? :|

Re: Stun Gun Question

Posted: Sat 29 Apr 2017, 10:04
by blaster219
2nd post

You can't crit with a stun weapon. That's pretty much the official word. Everything else is house rules.

Re: Stun Gun Question

Posted: Sat 29 Apr 2017, 17:17
by Tomas
As mentioned earlier in the thread, stun weapons don't crit.

As for grenades, the damage caused depends on the Blast Power (listed for each grenade on page 129). Blast Power is explained on page 98. Stun grenades cause stress instead of damage (see page 127), and they don't crit.

Those are the official rules. House rules are of course perfectly fine! :)

Re: Stun Gun Question

Posted: Sat 29 Apr 2017, 17:20
by blaster219
Re-reading the combat chapter, specifically the rules regarding Stress and Damage, there's no mention of armour under the Stress section. I've taken that to mean armour is ineffective against Stress. Is that correct? Because that would also mean stun weapons ignore armour. And that's something I'd like to get right at the table once I start running. :-)