JaszczurXP
Topic Author

CoTG in one 5 hours session - possible?

Sun 05 Jan 2020, 23:57

Hi. Is it even possible? Any ideas how it could be accomplished? I'm a beginner GM, so I'm not sure if I could fit this scenario in form of just one 5 h session, assuming that players won't die early.

aramis

Re: CoTG in one 5 hours session - possible?

Mon 06 Jan 2020, 03:17

It's going to be highly variable, base your estimate on how fast your players and you tend to play. My group took almost 9 hours, but that was three sessions, noisy environment, distractible players. If they go through season 2/3/4 D&DAL modues in the listed times, yes, this may fly in under 5...
If I were to run it FTF for my old D&D AL group?  Either 4-5 hours or 10-20, depending upon which mode they take. (It took them 3 hours just to buy cargo and get loaded. Fighting the stowaways? a 3 hour comedy of errors on both sides.
—————————————————————————
Smith & Wesson: the original point and click interface...

decanox

Mon 06 Jan 2020, 18:20

Hi...

I have played CoTG in two occasions and I can tell that it's really difficult to play all the scenario into a 5 hours session.

For example, the last time, we spent more or less 5 hours and we left the game near the end of the second act, and it was fast paced. The first time we needed three sessions to finish.

Obviously, it will depend on each game group but keep in mind that players have to explore the entire ship, they will have to combat some neomorphs, fix the ship, fulfill their (opposed) agendas, fight the Cronus crew (mutated into neomorphs or not), etc. I think 5 hours is a bit short for those questions. Although it's not necessary not too much additional time: the last time I played CoTG, I made a fast estimation and maybe with 2-3 more hours the scenario could be finished, so with a sum of 7-8 hours CoTG could finish.

Gebohq

Mon 06 Jan 2020, 19:54