Search found 22 matches

by Alucard89
Sat 15 Feb 2020, 15:48
Forum: General
Topic: Crazy deadly fighting combo....
Replies: 3
Views: 232

Re: Crazy deadly fighting combo....

It's not really that strong. Ambidex 3 + Swordsman 3 is arguably the strongest combo in game, using dual longswords, allowing up to 3 attacks per turn with Path of the Blade 2 and attacking up to 6 (!) targets in one turn when fighting more than 2 enemies or at least 2 strong enemies due to Swordsma...
by Alucard89
Wed 05 Feb 2020, 14:50
Forum: General
Topic: Underpowered magic
Replies: 11
Views: 414

Re: Underpowered magic

The good thing about magic users is that they don't depend on any attribute, so you don't need high WITS or Empathy to be good in magic.  That leads to quite a lot of good possibilities when making a Sorcerer/Druid. For example you can start as Orc with 6 Strength + Unbreakable and invest in either ...
by Alucard89
Sun 26 Jan 2020, 01:16
Forum: GM Only
Topic: Do monsters need to use a RETREAT action to disengage?
Replies: 3
Views: 358

Re: Do monsters need to use a RETREAT action to disengage?

I roll normally Move for monsters if they want to retreat- since players have to do it- enemies have to do it too. It's fair that both parties follow the rules. But I also tend to give monster penalties/bonuses to Move depending on their size. For example nimble monster will get +1 to Move roll for ...
by Alucard89
Fri 24 Jan 2020, 17:25
Forum: General
Topic: How to avoid overpowered players
Replies: 3
Views: 323

Re: How to avoid overpowered players

Challenge them in interesting ways, but also allow them to shine in their field, that's what makes good story. So your "combat monster" can get whole party in trouble because he couldn't handle manipulation/social situation while he was on his own, but 2 sessions later he killed 10 enemies single-ha...
by Alucard89
Wed 15 Jan 2020, 16:56
Forum: GM Only
Topic: Managing Combat with "Broken" Combatants
Replies: 21
Views: 775

Re: Managing Combat with "Broken" Combatants

I don't punish my players, we as a playing group has always thought it is logical that you end up prone if you are knocked senseless or is collapsing and can only crawl. If someone that has collapsed would still be standing up (sounds so strange) wanted to move, he would have to change stance so he...
by Alucard89
Wed 15 Jan 2020, 16:29
Forum: GM Only
Topic: Managing Combat with "Broken" Combatants
Replies: 21
Views: 775

Re: Managing Combat with "Broken" Combatants

In my world when you are knocked senseless or has collapsed you are prone and can only crawl (because you are broken and can't stand up). Clearly in your world it doesn't mean the same thing. Nope, it's the same for me but I don't punish players further with some additional difficulties and actions...
by Alucard89
Wed 15 Jan 2020, 15:46
Forum: GM Only
Topic: Managing Combat with "Broken" Combatants
Replies: 21
Views: 775

Re: Managing Combat with "Broken" Combatants

If you are 'knocked senseless' and ' can only crawl' (strength), means that you are not standing up. T he same can be said if you 'collapse from exhaustion' and 'can only crawl' (agility). You don't stand up if you collapsing and again here as well, if you can't walk, only crawl, you aren't  standi...
by Alucard89
Wed 15 Jan 2020, 14:41
Forum: GM Only
Topic: Managing Combat with "Broken" Combatants
Replies: 21
Views: 775

Re: Managing Combat with "Broken" Combatants

Also, remember the orc will probably fall down and drop his weapon when he becomes broken. Next round he need to spend one action to get up and another one to get his weapon/draw new weapon. Being such a strong fighter most enemies might consider him their first choice for their next attack, thereb...
by Alucard89
Wed 11 Dec 2019, 01:28
Forum: General
Topic: "Only damaged by Magic" question
Replies: 3
Views: 196

Re: "Only damaged by Magic" question

Hmm... in what way are these items magic? Do they have drawbacks of any kind? Or did you just give them normal items +artifact dice? In the latter case they may not necessarily be magical at all. Your party can also just run away, which would be the sensible thing to do. Or try to bargain with the ...
by Alucard89
Wed 11 Dec 2019, 01:13
Forum: General
Topic: Nekhaka Scepter Drains When?
Replies: 9
Views: 297

Re: Nekhaka Scepter Drains When?

I rule it that it drains when it's being used - which for me means wielded. It won't drain being in the bag, backpack or at cart. But if you use it - you get drained that quarter when you used it. Oh, that’s too nice. The power of the scepter is too much to carry, ready to use at all times, without...
GZIP: Off