The Stroy
Topic Author

How to speed up combat

Thu 13 Dec 2018, 18:10

Hi everyone, first post here!
Any advice on how to speed up combat?

I've got very little experience with FBL and with the Y0 Engine in general, but I've noticed combat is pretty time consuming: it took 3 PCs more than 2 IRL hours to defeat 3 Orcs.
I'm aware that combat is not supposed to necessarily be to the death, and that is not as central to the game as in other systems. I'm also sure it will go faster as we learn the intricacies of die rolls, pushing, moves, etc... but still, I would like some suggestions on how to speed it up.

For example, I was thinking about foregoeing the Dodge and Parry actions with my humanoids NPCs (more damage taken by both parties = shorter fights).

Any other suggestion?
Thank you!

Eldhierta

Re: How to speed up combat

Thu 13 Dec 2018, 19:13

Hi everyone, first post here!
Any advice on how to speed up combat?

I've got very little experience with FBL and with the Y0 Engine in general, but I've noticed combat is pretty time consuming: it took 3 PCs more than 2 IRL hours to defeat 3 Orcs.
I'm aware that combat is not supposed to necessarily be to the death, and that is not as central to the game as in other systems. I'm also sure it will go faster as we learn the intricacies of die rolls, pushing, moves, etc... but still, I would like some suggestions on how to speed it up.

For example, I was thinking about foregoeing the Dodge and Parry actions with my humanoids NPCs (more damage taken by both parties = shorter fights).

Any other suggestion?
Thank you!
Wow. Fights in the Y0-engine tend to be pretty quick, so that fight must be some kind of record :) What was the main problem? Missed/bad rolls or something else? Did you account for dodge/parry consuming actions?
Last edited by Eldhierta on Thu 13 Dec 2018, 20:00, edited 1 time in total.

The Stroy
Topic Author

Thu 13 Dec 2018, 19:24