Cango
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue 25 Jul 2017, 22:13
Location: Chile
Contact:

PROTOCOL ROBOT PROGRAM: CALCULATE

Tue 25 Jul 2017, 22:18

Sorry guys, but i can´t seem to understand how Calculate works. This mean that you force another robot to change his action? What happends if he doesnt what to change his result? How does the stunts work? 
 
User avatar
Fenhorn
Posts: 591
Joined: Thu 24 Apr 2014, 15:03
Location: Mariestad (Sverige, Tellus)

Re: PROTOCOL ROBOT PROGRAM: CALCULATE

Tue 25 Jul 2017, 22:58

The subject of the Calculate skill may take his action back and choose another action (if the Calculate skill succeeds).

So for example if a Protocol Robot and a Mutant is out on a walk and the walk right into a battle. If the Mutant during his turn decides to shoot an enemy with his scrap rifle, the Protocol Robot can declare that he will use Calculate on that action. The Protocol Robot rolls for his Calculate first and he gets one NUKE. The Mutant now rolls for Shoot and he fails. The Mutant can, thanks to the Protocol Robot, select another action (this must be done before the Mutant pushes his skill roll).

So the Calculate skill is a failsafe, if the subject fails his skill roll. If he succeeds with his skill roll then, technically, the Protocol Robot has wasted his action (well, if the Protocol Robot got a stunt the subject got +1 (per stunt) for the action he wanted to do and also the action he chooses to do if he selects another action).

(This is according to the Swedish rulebook. The English version may differ).
"War, war never changes" - Lone Wanderer
 
User avatar
Tomas
Site Admin
Posts: 3817
Joined: Fri 08 Apr 2011, 11:31

Re: PROTOCOL ROBOT PROGRAM: CALCULATE

Wed 26 Jul 2017, 18:00

Fenhorn wrote:
The subject of the Calculate skill may take his action back and choose another action (if the Calculate skill succeeds).

So for example if a Protocol Robot and a Mutant is out on a walk and the walk right into a battle. If the Mutant during his turn decides to shoot an enemy with his scrap rifle, the Protocol Robot can declare that he will use Calculate on that action. The Protocol Robot rolls for his Calculate first and he gets one NUKE. The Mutant now rolls for Shoot and he fails. The Mutant can, thanks to the Protocol Robot, select another action (this must be done before the Mutant pushes his skill roll).

So the Calculate skill is a failsafe, if the subject fails his skill roll. If he succeeds with his skill roll then, technically, the Protocol Robot has wasted his action (well, if the Protocol Robot got a stunt the subject got +1 (per stunt) for the action he wanted to do and also the action he chooses to do if he selects another action).

(This is according to the Swedish rulebook. The English version may differ).

Fenhorn is right - the Swedish and English editions do not differ in this regard.
Fria Ligan
GZIP: Off