mbrunet
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2017, 16:16

Rules Question: Rot level, explored sector and Find the path

Wed 03 May 2017, 16:10

HI,

I've got a question about the rot level and the explored sector. I'm DMing a game and i want to know what happen after a sector is explored to the rot level.
So the stalker roll his find the path and do not find the rot level in it(weak rot). After the successful attempt to explore the sector should i give them the rot level and do it stay the same if they come back.
Second part for this question. Let's say the stalker use the stunt for rot finder. but they decide to not find the rot level, the rot will be one level lower. after the successful attempt of exploring the sector should i provide them with original rot level or the the one reduce by one. 

third and last question, same situation. But the sector is rot-heavy. The party decide to leave the sector because it is too dangerous in term of rot( they spend only 1 hour in it). and decide to come back another time. The next time they come back, can the stalker roll again for his find the path or they need to use the last one they did.

Thanks for the help
 
User avatar
Tomas
Site Admin
Posts: 3651
Joined: Fri 08 Apr 2011, 11:31

Re: Rules Question: Rot level, explored sector and Find the path

Wed 03 May 2017, 18:28

Hi!

First question: If the Stalker does not use Find the Path to assess the Rot level, you will simply tell the players when they suffer Rot Points. From this, they will probably be able to guess the Rot Level, but by then it's too late. Using the skill to assess the Rot Level means that the Stalker gets to know the Rot level before the group enters the sector. If the Rot is severe they can choose to back out of the sector immediately and suffer no Rot.

Second question: if the Stalker does not spend a stunt on assessing the Rot level, you don't ever need to reveal the Rot level - you simply tell the players when they suffer Rot Points.

Third question: If the Stalker has assessed the Rot level in a sector, he does not need to roll for it again. The Rot level (generally) stays the same.
Fria Ligan
 
mbrunet
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2017, 16:16

Re: Rules Question: Rot level, explored sector and Find the path

Wed 03 May 2017, 18:38

Hi Tomas,

thank you for answering my question. I've got a last one for the find the path. Let's say the group decide to back out of sector for any reason. then the sector will be consider unexplored. if they decide to come back can they roll a new find the path since the sector is unexplored or they need to use the past role?

Thanks,
 
User avatar
Tomas
Site Admin
Posts: 3651
Joined: Fri 08 Apr 2011, 11:31

Re: Rules Question: Rot level, explored sector and Find the path

Wed 03 May 2017, 18:50

To keep things simple and keep the record-keeping down , I would recommend a new roll. However, the GM should not allow players to abuse this by rolling multiple times for a single sector until they get a really good roll. In such a scenario, the original roll would stand.
Fria Ligan
 
mbrunet
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2017, 16:16

Re: Rules Question: Rot level, explored sector and Find the path

Wed 03 May 2017, 20:09

thank you SIR.
GZIP: Off